ICFF Roundup, Part One

I’m a bit behind schedule on my ICFF coverage, but when you have a 3-foot-tall pile of catalogs and more than 150 photos of AWESOME new modern furnishings, it’s tough to narrow it down. (For those unfamiliar, ICFF–International Contemporary Furniture Fair–is a showcase for new contemporary furnishing designs.) And so to make it a bit less overwhelming, I’ve cut my coverage into three categories: The Best in Accents, The Best in Furniture and My Favorites. I’ll start with My Favorites today because, well, they’re my favorites.  There will be much more to come this week, so keep checking back. Of course, with 145,000 square feet of exhibitor space, I’m not able to cover nearly enough of the fabulous products, so here’s hoping my scraping-of-the-surface will suffice! (-Allie)

DeadGood

Deadgood Ltd.: This company out of the UK has a great selection of super-stylish products with an underlying hint of quirk. But my favorites, by far, are their Love collection (see chair with heart detailing and heart-shaped mirror above) and their wire table lamps, in three sizes (also in pendant version). Their products aren’t available in the U.S. yet (can be purchased with international shipping from the UK), but I would do just about anything to get my hands on that mirror, so I’m hoping some smart US stores hurry up and snag these for their fall product line…

GrayPants

Graypants: What do you get when you combine a unique eye for design with a desire to save the environment from cardboard waste, and then throw in three adorably cute designers from Seattle? Graypants, that’s what. These architects-by-day are dumpster-diving-lighting-designers by night. Braving the back alleyways and dark street corners of Northwest nights, Jon, Jonathan and Seth round up perfectly usable but tossed-aside cardboard boxes and reconfigure them into one-of-a-kind (and affordable!) pendant lights.  Think of them as your very own waste-fighting super heroes, saving our landfills and beautifying our homes one box at a time. I sense a Bravo series in their future…

Oranges

David Steinvurzel: Talk about using natural resources! Pratt design student David Steinvurzel created these Orange Votive Candles with soy-based wax and discarded orange peels for an ICFF design competition. They’re not yet available for purchase, but I thought they were worth sharing anyway. Hopefully David soon finds someone to put these babies into production—and hopefully he’ll let me know when and where I can purchase my own!

JustNotNormal

Just Not Normal: The name says it all–the creations that come from John Niero at Just Not Normal are anything but boring. Sophisticated materials, sexy silhouette and playful color make this pink Stance chair one of my top picks from ICFF this year. The fact that designer Niero rocks as a person doesn’t hurt either.

FlavorPaper

Flavor Paper: I’m a sucker for wallpaper. I’m also a sucker for bright color and playful designs. So you can imagine my reaction when I first discovered Flavor Paper a couple years ago: The theory of “love at first sight” was proven. So it really is a bit unfair to include them in My Favorites…because, really, they can do no wrong. Ever. Regardless, with or without my personal bias, Flavor Paper’s new lineup that made its debut at ICFF is Fab-U-Lous. And considering how utterly fabulous (so much so I used the word twice) their papers are, the price is quite a steal. Have I mentioned how fabulous they are?

2 Comments

Filed under Product Roundup

2 responses to “ICFF Roundup, Part One

  1. Wow, what a great mix of product. I love it all and love the layouts. Nicely done, not that I am surprised! xo

  2. Ariana

    Sweet Jesus! We need those orange candles! I can smell them in the house already. I am waiting Allie….. 🙂

Leave a Reply

